RSE Elects Honorary & Corresponding Fellows

RSE Elects Honorary & Corresponding Fellows

Media Information - 31 May 2004

The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE), Scotland’s National Academy today announces election to its Fellowship of eleven eminent international figures. Chosen in recognition of outstanding contributions to their field and achievement in public service, a broad spectrum of expertise is represented in the list of new Honorary &  Corresponding Fellows including: Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve, Alan Greenspan; Nobel Prize winner and inventor of the monolithic integrated circuit (the Silicon chip), Jack Kilby, and the ‘Father of Sociobiology’, Edward.O. Wilson.

President of The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Lord Sutherland of Houndwood said:

I am delighted that these highly distinguished individuals have been elected to Fellowship of The Royal Society of Edinburgh. Of international repute, they have made a profound contribution within their own fields, and beyond. We are very happy to welcome them to Fellowship of the Society.

Honorary Fellows*1

GREENSPAN, Alan.  Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, USA

KILBY, Jack St Clair. Nobel Prize for Physics. Part-time consultant, Texas Instruments Inc., USA

WILSON, Edward Osborne. Hon Life FRS. Honorary Curator in Entomology, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard, USA.

Corresponding Fellows*2

BRIDGES, Douglas Sutherland, Professor of Pure Mathematics and Head, Department of Mathematics, University of Canterbury

BUCHSTABER, Victor Matveevich,  Professor, Steklov Mathematical Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences.

CAMPBELL, Eleanor Elizabeth Bryce,  Professor of Atomic and Fundamental Molecular Physics, Göteborg University.

KRISHNAMURTI, Bhadriraju,  Professor Emeritus of Linguistics, Osmania University, Hyderabad, India.

MECKLENBRAUKER, Wolfgang, F G. Professor, Technical University of Vienna.

PEGG, David Thomas. Professor of Physics, Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia.

URQUHART, John. Professor Emeritus, Maastricht University; Chief Scientist, AARDEX Ltd; Professor of Biopharmaceutical Sciences, UCSF, San Francisco; Vice-chairman, Inveresk Research Group; Director and Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board, Biomarin Pharmaceutical Corp, Novato, CA.

WATSON, Alan. Distinguished Research Professor & Ernest P Rogers Chair at the University of Georgia Law School, USA.

The list of Ordinary Fellows was announced 1 March 2004.

Key to Criteria for Fellowship:

(*1) Honorary Fellows: of exceptional distinction in their own fields and many are widely known outside their own specialisms. Are internationally renowned, may be of any country or domicile and do not need to have a link with Scotland.

(*2) Corresponding Fellows: of significant international distinction within their own subject or profession. Must be domiciled overseas.


Follow Us: