RSE Elects New Fellows for Outstanding Contribution to Scottish Life

RSE Elects New Fellows for Outstanding Contribution to Scottish Life

Media Information - 1 March 2004

RSE Elects Outstanding Individuals to Fellowship

Over fifty eminent individuals have today been elected Fellows of The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE), Scotland’s National Academy. Chosen in recognition of outstanding contributions to their field and achievement in public service, a broad spectrum of expertise is represented in the new list of Fellows, which includes: leading Scientist, Jocelyn Bell Burnell; Scottish Enterprise Chairman, John Ward and the Academic and Grade 1 Scottish Football Referee, John Underhill.

Following elections held at the RSE’s George Street headquarters on the evening of Monday 1 March, 2004, the entrepreneur, Chris van der Kuyl; the Lord Justice Clerk of Scotland, Brian Gill, and the Director of the Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, Karen Vousden, were also named Fellows of the Society.

RSE Vice President Professor Andy Walker said:

The breadth of an independent, multidisciplinary body such as the RSE enables it to make a valuable contribution to the social, cultural and economic wellbeing of Scotland. I am delighted that these eminent individuals, who encompass such a diverse range of skills and experience have been elected to the Fellowship. We shall be seeking to involve them in the aims of the Society and, in turn, be of further benefit to Scotland.

ASENOV, Asen Michaylov, Professor of Device Modelling, University of Glasgow.

ASHCROFT, Brian K, Professor of Economics and Policy Director, Fraser of Allander Institute, University of Strathclyde; Co-Director, Scotttish Economic Policy Network.

BEGG, David, Principal, Imperial College Business School.

BELL BURNELL, Susan Jocelyn, Dean of Science, University of Bath.

BISHOP, Paul Michael, Professor of Physical Geography, University of Glasgow.

BOWNES, Mary, Professor of Developmental Biology & Vice Principal, University of Edinburgh.

BROWN, Callum Graham, Professor of Religious and Cultural History, University of Strathclyde.

BUNEMAN, Oscar Peter, Professor of Database Systems, School of Informatics, University of Edinburgh.

CAIE, Graham Douglas, Professor of English Language, University of Glasgow.

COBBE, Stuart Malcolm, Walton Professor of Medical Cardiology, Royal Infirmary, Glasgow.

COOKE, David John, Head of Forensic Clinical Psychology Service, Greater Glasgow Primary Care NHS Trust; Professor of Forensic Clinical Psychology, Glasgow Caledonian University.

CURTICE, John Kevin, Professor of Politics & Director of the Social Statistics Laboratory, University of Strathclyde; Research Consultant, Scottish Centre for Social Research.

DAWSON, John Alan, Professor of Marketing, University of Edinburgh; Distinguished Professor, University of Marketing and Distribution Sciences, Kobe; Visiting Professor, ESADE, Barcelona.

FERGUSSON, David Alexander Syme, Minister of Church of Scotland; Professor of Divinity & Head of the School of Divinity, University of Edinburgh.

GALBRAITH, Roderick Allister McDonald, Shoda Professor of Aerospace Systems, University of Glasgow.

GILL, Brian, Lord Justice Clerk of Scotland, Parliament House.

HALEY, Christopher Simon, Professor, University of Edinburgh; Head, Department of Genetics & Biometry, Roslin Institute (Edinburgh).

HAYWARD, Gordon, Professor & Director, Centre for Ultrasonic Engineering, University of Strathclyde; Chairman, Alba Ultrasound Ltd.

HOGG, Richard Milne, Smith Professor of English Language, University of Manchester.

HOOD, Alan William, Professor of Applied Mathematics, University of St Andrews.

HOWARD, Deborah, Professor of Architectural History and Head of the Department of the History of Art; Fellow of St John’s College, University of Cambridge.

LA THANGUE, Nicholas Barrie, Cathcart Professor of Biochemistry, University of Glasgow.

AMBERT, Jeremy John, Professor of Neuropharmacology, University of Dundee.

LENMAN, Bruce Philip, Emeritus Professor of Modern History, University of St Andrews.

MACKENZIE, Andrew Peter, Professor of Condensed Matter Physics & Director of Research, School of Physics and Astronomy, University of St. Andrews.

MACPHERSON, Shonaig, Senior Partner, McGrigors; non-executive Director, ITI Scotland Ltd; non-executive Member, Management Group, Scottish Executive

MAGURRAN, Anne Elizabeth, Professor of Ecology & Evolution, University of St Andrews.

MCLAUGHLIN, Stephen, Professor of Electronic Communication Systems, University of Edinburgh.

MOIGNARD, Elizabeth Ann, Professor of Classical Art & Archaeology; Director, Institute for Art History; Vice Dean, Faculty of Arts, University of Glasgow.

MULLIN, Thomas, Professor of Physics, University of Manchester; Director, The Manchester Centre for Nonlinear Dynamics.

NOLAN, Andrea Mary, Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Glasgow.

O'HAGAN, David, Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of St Andrews.

OPARKA, Karl John, Head, Programme of Cell-to-Cell Communication, Scottish Crop Research Institute.

O'SHEA, Timothy Michael Martin, Principal and Vice Chancellor, University of Edinburgh.

PATERSON, Lindsay John, Professor of Educational Policy, University of Edinburgh.

PITTOCK, Murray G H, Professor of Scottish and Romantic Literature & Head of the Department of English and American Studies, University of Manchester.

POON, Wilson Che Kei, Professor of Condensed Matter Physics, University of Edinburgh.

REICHER, Stephen David, Professor of Psychology, University of St Andrews.

SCHYNS, Philippe George, Professor of Visual Cognition, University of Glasgow.

SHAW, Mark Robert, Keeper of Geology & Zoology, National Museums of Scotland.

SPEAKMAN, John Roger, Professor of Zoology & Head, Integrative Physiology, University of Aberdeen; Head, Energetics and Molecular Physiology, Rowett Research

Institute, Aberdeen.

SWAFFIELD, John Arthur, William Watson Professor of Building Engineering; Head, School of the Built Environment, Heriot-Watt University.

TOLLERVEY, David, Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow, Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh.

UNDERHILL, John Richard, Professor of Stratigraphy, University of Edinburgh.

UNDERWOOD, Ian, Director of Strategic Marketing, Micro Emissive Displays Ltd; Reader, School of Engineering and Electronics, University of Edinburgh.

van der KUYL, Christiaan Richard David, President & CEO, VIS Entertainment plc; Chairman, AXIS Animation, Young Enterprise Scotland Limited, Scottish Games Alliance,The Independent Game Developers Association; Director, Young Enterprise UK, Dundee Science Centre, Schools Enterprise Scotland, Edinburgh International Games Festival; Visiting Professor in Digital Entertainment, University of Abertay.

VOUSDEN, Karen Heather, Director, Beatson Institute for Cancer Research, Glasgow.

WARD, John MacQueen, Chairman of Scottish Enterprise, Chairman of Scottish Qualifications Authority, Chairman of Dunfermline Building Society, Chairman of European ssets Trust NV, Chairman of Queen Margaret University College.

WEBB, David John, Christison Professor of Therapeutics and Clinical Pharmacology & Head, Centre for Cardiovascular Science, University of Edinburgh; Consultant Physician, Lothian NHS Board.

WEBBER, Bonnie Lynn, Professor of Intelligent Systems, University of Edinburgh.

WEIJER, Cornelis Jan, Professor of Developmental Physiology, University of Dundee.

WELCH, Alan Jeffrey, Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, Heriot-Watt University.

WHITE, Robert J, Professor of Gene Transcription, University of Glasgow.WOOLHOUSE, Mark Edward John, Chair of Veterinary Public Health and Quantitative Epidemiology, University of Edinburgh.

WRIGHT, Eric George, Professor of Experimental Haematology, Ninewells Hospital and Medical School, University of Dundee.


Follow Us: