Prizes & Medals

Prizes & Medals

The RSE currently awards the following Prizes and Medals. A list of earlier prizes and their recipients is available here.

Royal Medals

Royal Medals are awarded for distinction and international repute in any of the following categories: Life Sciences; Physical and Engineering Sciences; Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; Business and Commerce.  The 2016 Medallists have been decided and all the Royal Medallists can be found here. 

Nominations for the next round of Royal Medals are now open with a closing date of 28 November 2016.

Senior and Early Career Prizes

The 2016 Senior Prize winners and Early Career Prize winners were announced on 8 February 2016.  Download press release.

Senior Prize-winners will receive a medal. They are required to deliver a lecture in Scotland and related travel and subsistence costs will be met.  This award meets with the Society’s strategic objective of increasing public understanding of science and the arts and humanities.  The Senior Prize-winners are required to have a Scottish connection but can be based anywhere in the world.

Early Career Prize-winners will receive a medal which will be presented on the occasion of the lecture delivered by the Senior Prize-winner.  The early career prize-winner will normally be resident in Scotland.  In academia an “early career researcher” is defined as “a researcher with a minimum of two years postdoctoral work experience and no more than ten years postdoctoral work experience" (ie research fellows to lecturers in their first academic posts are eligible).  For those not based in academia "early career" is defined as "individuals who have demonstrated outstanding ability in their work and professional practice within thirteen years of graduation."

The next closing date for Senior and Early Career Prize nominations is 28 November 2016.

Senior and Early Career Prizes are available in Life Sciences; Physical, Engineering and Informatic Sciences; Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; Business, Public Service and Public Engagement.

Pro-Meritas Medals

These new medals recognise exceptional, voluntary service to the RSE by a non-Fellow and the first recipients are Dr Russell Leather, Mr Angus Shearer and Dr Alan Walker.

Joint Prizes & Medals

The RSE/BP Hutton Prize in Energy Innovation.

The RSE/BP Hutton Prize in Energy Innovation is awarded for a significant individual contribution to energy innovation through research and knowledge exchange. 

The IEEE/RSE James Clerk Maxwell Medal supported by Cirrus Logic

The IEEE/RSE James Clerk Maxwell Award recognizes groundbreaking contributions that have had an exceptional impact on the development of electronics and electrical engineering or related fields. 

RSE Prizes for Public Engagement

The RSE Prizes for Public Engagement seek to recognize and promote excellence in the ‎emerging field of Public Engagement. A Senior Prize and Innovator's Prize are awarded.

Other Prizes

Cormack Postgraduate Prize

The Cormack Postgraduate Prize is awarded annually to recognise and reward the most outstanding postgraduate student contribution to astronomical research in Scotland. 


Follow Us: