Other Elections and Appointments

Other Elections and Appointments

The following Fellow has been elected to the Royal Academy of Engineering


Summer 2006

John William Hancock


Chief Scientific Advisor for Scotland

Professor (Lesley) Anne Glover, FRSE has been appointed Chief Scientific Advisor for Scotland (May 2006).

Professor Glover, who has a Personal Chair in Molecular Biology in the School of Medical Sciences at the University of Aberdeen will be seconded to the Scottish Executive.

Sir Michael Atiyah welcomed the appointment: "This is a most important post which will help Scotland establish its position in UK science circles and on the international scene. With the ever increasing role of scientific matters in public affairs it is vital that the Scottish Executive has access to the best scientific advice, through a variety of channels. The RSE hopes to establish a good working relation with Professor Glover and assist her in her important task."


Scottish Science Advisory Council

The following Fellows have been appointed members of the Scottish Science Advisory Council (February 2007)

Professor Alan Richard BUNDY

Professor Michael Anthony John FERGUSON

Professor James Rufus McDONALD

Professor Andrew Justin Radcliffe PORTER

Mr Ian Cleland RITCHIE

Professor (Charles) Roland WOLF

The Fellows below will continue to serve on the Committee

Professor Steven Peter BEAUMONT

Sir Kenneth Charles CALMAN

Professor Julie Lydia FITZPATRICK

Professor (Lesley) Anne GLOVER (Co-Chair)

Professor Peter John MORGAN

Professor Stuart William John REID

Professor Elizabeth Joyce TAIT

Dr Christiaan Richard David VAN DER KUYL


Follow Us: