Women in STEM consultation - evidence and assistance received

The Women in STEM working group took oral evidence from a range of stakeholders via sectoral discussion for and held a public consultation from 30 June to 19 August inviting written evidence to the following questions:


What do you see as the opportunities and challenges facing the STEM workforce in Scotland today?


What do you see as the current barriers to the recruitment, retention and progression of women in the STEM workforce?


What steps are being taken within your organisation and/or sector to enhance the career options and progression routes for female staff members?


What further steps could/should be taken within your organisation and/or sector, including any specific policies and practices?


More generally, how could the potential of women in the STEM workforce be more effectively and efficiently realised? Who would be responsible for implementation and what support would be required?


Do you think there needs to be any changes to existing employment law? If so, in what areas?


Are you aware of any existing resource that is effective in addressing the under-representation of women in STEM?

Oral evidence

Ann Henderson, Assistant Secretary (Policy & Campaigns), STUC

Stephen McCrossan, National Officer (Education and Equality), EIS

Muriel Mackenzie, Research & Policy Officer, ESEP Ltd

Allison Johnstone, Project Officer, Scottish Resource Centre for Women in SET

Dr David Watt, Director of Institute of Directors Scotland

Scott Reid-Skinner, Equal Opportunities Manager, Scottish Enterprise

Katie Hutton, Head of Local and National Government, Skills Development Scotland

Hugh Lightbody, Team Leader National Business Gateway Unit

Dr Stuart Fancey, Assistant Director Research and Innovation, Scottish Funding Council

Dr Emma Perfect, Chief Scientific Officer and Managing Director, LUX Assure

Dr David McLean, Global Technology Manager UK, Syngenta Crop Protection

Dr Janet Halliday, Director of Research and Development, Controlled Therapeutics (Scotland)

Dr Jo Oliver, Chief Executive Officer, AvantiCell Science Ltd

Prof Alan Murray, Head of School of Engineering, University of Edinburgh

Prof Lesley Yellowlees, Head of School of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh

Prof Alan Miller, Deputy Principal (Research & Knowledge Transfer), Heriot-Watt University

Professor Sue Scott, Vice Principal and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research), Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Judith Masthoff, Department of Computing Science, University of Aberdeen

Written Evidence

AMEC plc

Angela Mathis


BAE Systems Surface Ships

British Pharmacological Society 'Women in Pharmacology' Committee

Chevron Women's Network, Aberdeen Chapter ‎

Close The Gap

Dr Catherine Berry

Dr Emilie Combet

Dr Janet Moxley

Edinburgh Mathematical Society and London Mathematical Society Women in ‎Mathematics Committee

e-skills UK

Heriot-Watt University

Highlands and Islands Enterprise

Institute of Physics

Institution of Civil Engineers - Scotland


Research Councils UK

Royal Society of Chemistry

Scottish Agricultural College

Scottish Association for Marine Science

Scottish Funding Council‎

SELEX Galileo

Semta, the Sector Skills Council for Science, Engineering and Manufacturing ‎Technologies

Skills Development Scotland Ltd‎


Society for Endocrinology

Society of Petroleum Engineers (Aberdeen) Another Perspective Committee

The Institution of Engineering and Technology

The James Hutton Institute

The Open University in Scotland

The Royal Academy of Engineering

The Science Council


Transport Scotland

Universities Scotland

University of Aberdeen

University of Abertay Dundee

University of Dundee

University of Glasgow

University of Strathclyde

Wellcome Trust


Charlie Woods

Bob Hart

Mark Wild and Pauline Ward

Jackie Waring


Follow Us: