All News

Nominations for BP-funded prize now invited

Posted 21/04/2015

RSE/BP Hutton Prize in Energy Innovation

This award, funded by the BP Trust, and carrying a prize of £10,000, is made on a biennial basis by the Council of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, to an individual early-career researcher based in Scotland, who has shown “a significant individual contribution to energy innovation through research and knowledge exchange”.

The 2013 winner was Professor Lee Cronin FRSC FRSE, Regius Chair of Chemistry, University of Glasgow, in recognition of his leading edge research in developing PROMISE: A Fuel-Cell-Electrolyzer Platform for Sustainable Energy Storage Realized via renewable “Inorganic-Fuel”.

The 2011 winner was Dr David Wright, PGS Senior Research Fellow at the University of Edinburgh, whose innovative research in electromagnetics for oil and gas exploration  went on to be successfully commercialised through the spin-out company MTEM Ltd. 

Click here for more information on the eligibility criteria and the nomination documents or contact Anne Fraser, RSE Research Awards Manager.

Nomination deadline: Friday 4 September 2015

All News Articles