All News

RSE Fellows Elected to National Academies

Posted 06/05/2016

The Royal Society of Edinburgh would like to congratulate the following RSE Fellows, who have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society:

Professor Sarah Cleaveland OBE, Professor of Comparative Epidemiology, University of Glasgow;
Professor James Dunlop, Professor of Extragalactic Astronomy, University of Edinburgh;
Professor Dame Anne Glover DBE
, Vice-Principal External Affairs & Dean for Europe, University of Aberdeen;
Professor Neil Gow
, Director of Research and Commercialisation at College of Life Sciences and Medicine, University of Aberdeen;
Professor Russell Morris,
Professor of Structural and Materials Chemistry, University of St Andrews;
Professor James Prosser OBE
, Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of Aberdeen;
The Rt Hon Lord (Jonathan ) Turner of Echinswell HonFRSE, Senior Fellow, Institute for New Economic Thinking [elected an Honorary Fellow].

The full list of new Fellows is available on the Royal Society website here.

The RSE also congratulates the following Fellows who have been elected Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences:

Professor Judith Allen, Professor of Immunobiology, University of Manchester;
Professor Gordon Brown
, 6th Century Chair in Immunology, University of Aberdeen;
Professor Stuart Forbes, Professor of Transplantation & Regenerative Medicine, University of Edinburgh;
Professor Laura Machesky, Senior Research Group Leader, University of Glasgow;
Dr Iain Mattaj
, Director General, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL);
Professor Graeme Milligan
, Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Gardiner Professor of Biochemistry and Dean of Research, University of Glasgow;
Professor Jeffrey Pollard, Director, University of Edinburgh MRC Centre for Reproductive Health, University of Edinburgh;
Professor Naveed Sattar, Professor of Metabolic Medicine, University of Glasgow.

The full list of new Fellows is available on the Academy of Medical Sciences website here.


Finally, the RSE congratulates Sir Michael Atiyah OM FRS HonFREng HonFMedSci HonFFA HonFLSW, past President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, on his election as an Honorary Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales.  This is the first time that the LSW has elected Honorary Fellows.

All News Articles