All News

The Young Academy of Scotland - Parliamentary Motion

Posted 08/09/2011

S4M-00798 Liz Smith: The Royal Society of Edinburgh Launches New Young Academy of Scotland—That the Parliament congratulates the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) on the launch of the new RSE Young Academy of Scotland; notes that the first members of the new young academy have been chosen not only from all parts of Scotland, but also people originally from elsewhere in the UK or other parts of the world; considers that this is an exciting development and notes that it is the first of its kind in the UK as part of a growing movement of young academies across the world; understands that the RSE has established this young academy as a unique opportunity to bring together some of the most able and innovative young academics, entrepreneurs, artists and professionals in Scotland; welcomes the fact that the young academy aims to provide a platform for the best and most forward-looking people of their generation to develop for themselves a distinctive, coherent and influential voice to address many of the challenging issues facing society and to provide a forum for its members to engage with talented individuals beyond their own discipline or profession, and wishes the RSE well in working to help address some of the key challenges facing Scotland and contribute to solving some of the global challenges of the 21st century.

Supported by: 

Liz Smith, Liam McArthur, Kevin Stewart, Maureen Watt, John Lamont, Kenneth Gibson, Hugh Henry, Richard Lyle, Gavin Brown, Jamie McGrigor, Jackson Carlaw, Stewart Maxwell, Richard Simpson, Murdo Fraser, Nanette Milne, Alex Johnstone, Elaine Murray

All News Articles