All News

First RSE/BP Hutton Prize in Energy Innovation Awarded

Posted 10/11/2011

David Wright and Anne Glover
David Wright with Professor Anne Glover

The RSE is delighted to announce that Dr David Wright, who is based within the School of Geosciences, University of Edinburgh, has been awarded the first RSE/BP Hutton Prize in Energy Innovation, for his research entitled “The detection of oil and gas from surface-based electromagnetic measurements”.


This prize, funded by the BP Trust, and carrying a prize of £10,000, will be made on a biennial basis by the Council of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, to an individual early career researcher based in Scotland, who has shown “a significant individual contribution to energy innovation through research and knowledge exchange”.

The Prize is named in honour of James Hutton, an eminent Scottish Geologist and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. His most important contribution to science was his Theory of the Earth, (1785), and for this theory Hutton has earned the accolade of 'founder of modern geology'.

Read more about the RSE/BP Hutton Prize in Energy Innovation

All News Articles